Research, Early Detection, Survivor Support, Advocacy


Emily-Rose Wiitala

Events and Fundraising Coordinator
503.546.7430 | ewiitala@komenoregon.org




Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Portland, Oregon!

Who is in your family?
My immediate family is my mom Mimi, dad John, brother Elliot, and golden retriever Sasha! I am also very close with my four grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

What has your favorite age been (so far) and why?
22 has been fun so far!

What is your favorite book?
The Secret Life of Bees.  I also have great memories of reading Mr. Popper’s Penguins with my family growing up from the copy my grandpa had as a child.

What has been your favorite vacation - where and why?
Anywhere with my family!  It is always fun to get away with them, whether it be the countless trips to Disneyland, Hawaii, Italy, or our many skiing adventures.

If you could live anywhere for two years, where would it be?
Finland!  I have always been very interested about where my ancestors came to the US from.

What are two on your "top 10" songs list?
Anything country or Bruno Mars!

What would you like to do on your "bucket" list?
I don’t really have a bucket list!  I like to live in the moment, and enjoy every opportunity life hands me.

What is your favorite sport?
Skiing and anything Oregon State is playing…Go Beavs!

What do you like to do when you aren't at work?
Hang out with my family, friends, and dog!  I also love going to sporting events, concerts, and going outdoors skiing or hiking.  I am also a foodie and love checking out the latest and greatest places, and experiencing all of the longtime Portland favorites.