Research, Early Detection, Survivor Support, Advocacy


Kelly Coates



Where did you grow up?
I was born and raised in Portland, Oregon.

Who is in your family?
It’s me and two cats at home.

What has your favorite age been (so far) and why?
Any of those in my early 30s were amazing. But I have a good feeling about the age I am now and the year I have ahead of me. How’s that for vague and noncommittal?

What is your favorite book?
Can’t choose just one! “White Like Me” by Tim Wise, ”To Kill A Mockingbird” by Harper Lee, “Every Day I Fight” by Stuart Scott, “Why We Can’t Wait” by Martin Luther King, Jr., “The Audacity of Hope” by Barack Obama and “I Know This Much is True” by Wally Lamb are just a few of my favorites.

What has been your favorite vacation - where and why?
Most favorite vacation was a week and a half trip to NYC over the holidays. Being with my family and spending amazing days/night seeing so many sights in the city was phenomenal!

If you could live anywhere for two years, where would it be?
So many places I would love to live in for a couple years…NYC, Maui, London, San Diego, Boston…the opportunities are endless.

What are two on your "top 10" song list?
“Pride and Joy” by Brandi Carlile “To Make You Feel My Love” and I love many versions of that song by various different artists

What would you like to do on your "bucket" list?
I feel like there is still so much left undone in my life…go skydiving, get a tattoo, visit Yosemite, go on an African safari, see a Patriots game in Foxborough…lots of life left to live.

What is your favorite sport?
Definitely football! Go Pats!

What do you like to do when you aren't at work?
Being with friends/family, hiking, watching sports either live or on TV, spending time with my nieces and nephews, snowshoeing, wine tasting, kayaking.